Sakaiminato

Left Kyoto and dear friends this morning. Much beauty through the window.the 10-stop 1-car 45-minute train from Yonago to Sakaiminato along a peninsula that I think is called San-In. One of Shigeru Mizuki’s characters. I wrote about Mizuki in the first post. He was born in Sakaiminato and the town has generated a tourism industry from that fact. His most famous series is one I haven’t read. So my fanship was in the glimpses of Mizuki as memoirist and historian. Many fabulous glimpses. pulling into Sakaiminato:eyeball lamps lining shigeru Mizuki street.many statuesgreat little museum with photos, original pages, juvenilia, and dioramasthen went for a long walk through Sakaiminato which happily turns out to be remarkable even without sentimental attachment. The plants felt familiar having seen them drawn.Dipped into roadside restaurant. Empty at first but soon cutepunk teen couple w purple hair arrived, and 3 & 5 year old sons of the waitress sang loudly.was served more food than I can ever remember having been served and here a slot machine emporium. Behind me is the Sea of Japan. The little purpose of the walk was to find the beach, which pilgrimage seemed the easiest way to link place and comic panel. I walked along the shore for a ways, then headed back to the road. In the dark, searching for a way through the tall grass and the pines that shield the Sea from the cars, I caught my foot on a low-slung chain and fell on my chest with a whump. Picked myself up with eyebrow raised. Very good day. Finally I bathed communally in the open air on the 12th floor of this wonderful hotel as a Muzak rendition of How Deep Is Your Love played quietly. 

2 thoughts on “Sakaiminato

  1. This is fantastic. “Finally I bathed communally in the open air on the 12th floor of this wonderful hotel as a Muzak rendition of How Deep Is Your Love played quietly.” The great hallucinatory moments of travel. And somehow the manga of trees seems to me as yet profoundly unexplored.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

